I’m Back

Wow, its been a while. I went on protest 2 years ago, but that didn’t last long because Andy MacPhail was brought in and Sam Perlozzo was fired. Around that time, I also started the process of becoming a United States Post Office employee. I was using most of my time and energy towards starting my new job and getting my own place. I didn’t feel like I had the time or energy to give the blog the necessary attention it needed. Then I kind of forgot about it while everything in my life was going on. But I never stopped being a fan of the Orioles or paying attention to them.

In fact, I think this organization is in the best position its been in since at least 1997. MacPhail came in and turned this thing around. Trading our best hitter and best pitcher for a haul of 10 players/prospects was the start. Putting more money in the draft and in international scouting was the next step. We have since then accumulated arguably the best group of pitching prospects in baseball, as well as the best prospect in all of baseball – that being Matt Wieters. And Wieters has arrived as everyone knows, although hes off to a slow start in his first week. No worries about him BTW. I think this team could be competitive next year, and really start contending for a playoff spot in 2011. Names like Markakis, Jones, Riemold, Wieters, and Roberts (and soon, Tillman, Arrieta, Matusz, Patton, Snyder, Erbe, Hernandez, etc.) are going to lead the O’s back to the top of the sport, where they belong. I can’t wait, but the process to getting there should be fun albiet frustrating at times.

With all that said, I feel like I have enough time to get this thing back off the ground. I hope to blog about this team all the way to our next World Series. Its good to be back.

Leave a Reply

