Outfield Shake Up

The Orioles sent OF Nolan Reimold to AAA Norfolk and purchased the contract of OF Corey Patterson, adding him to the 25 and 40 man rosters. 2B Brian Roberts was transferred to the 60 day disabled list to make room on the 40.

I don’t like this move at all. I understand Reimold has been scuffling but I felt like he was starting to come out of it. I could understand this move if our offense wasn’t so anemic so far this season, but I thought hes been having better at bats than Luke Scott, Adam Jones, and especially Lou Montanez. Montanez is batting .114/.139/.114 in 35 at bats and hasn’t had a hit in 19 ABs. Plus he hasn’t played in a week. I’m fine with bringing up Patterson, who was hitting .368/.419/.491 with 5 doubles, a triple, and 3 stolen bases, but it should’ve been to take Montanez’ place on the roster. Patterson could provide a small spark if he stays hot at the plate and should give us a big improvement defensively in left field. I’m ok with him being the everyday left fielder for a while but I still would’ve kept Reimold up to be the full time DH and playing left field against most left handed pitchers. Hopefully Reimold regains his stroke quickly and can replace Montanez on the roster sooner rather than later. I can see this as a way to send a message to the team saying that it doesn’t matter who you are, you could be sent down if you don’t produce. I think that message would’ve been stronger if it was Scott or Jones that was sent down.

Leave a Reply

